Media Release

Nirkan - Vogga, July 5 : In 1984, under the guidance of Fr. Lancy Mathias, the youth organization Catholic Youth Movement (CYM) was established in St Thomas the Apostle Church, Nirkan.

Alphonse Fernandes was elected as the founding President in the first election of CYM, with Marita Rodrigues as Secretary and Isaac D'Souza as Treasurer along with other office bearers. Eventually, CYM became the Indian Catholic Youth Movement (ICYM).

Over the past 40 years, many presidents and office bearers have dedicated their service, contributing to the growth of ICYM. Now, ICYM Nirkan is 40 years old and is preparing to celebrate their Ruby Jubilee Year.

On July 3, 2024, the day of St. Thomas the Apostle Feast, Rev. Fr. Robert D'Souza, Director of ICYM Bantwal Deanery, unveiled the Ruby Jubilee celebration logo of ICYM Nirkan to honour the 40th year. And remembered the selfless and dedicated service since 1984 for keeping the parish active with various activities.

During this event, Rev. Fr. Leo Lobo, parish priest and director of ICYM Nirkan unit, Alphonse Fernandes, the founding president of ICYM Nirkan, Vincent Bennis, Vice president of PPC and Animator of ICYM Nirkan Unit, Shanthi Veigas, Secretary of PPC, Austin Lobo, Coordinator of commissions, Rolvish Fernandes, President ICYM Nirkan unit, and Venisha Lasrado, joint secretary of ICYM Nirkan unit, along with other parishioners, were in attendance. The inaugural programme was hosted by Melvita Crasta, an ICYM member.


Copyright © 2015 -
All rights reserved.

About Us



Powered by eCreators.