CT News

Bantwal, Dec 7 : Indian Catholic Youth Movement (ICYM) unit of St Thomas the Apostle Church Nirkan organized ‘Christmas - Kheladwari Ekwat 2022’ an Inter-ward games competition for the parishioners, on 27th November 2022 and ‘Christmas Cup-2022’ on 4th of December 2022 at St Thomas Higher Primary School Ground, Nirkan-Vogga.

The inaugural programme began at 9.15 am. ICYM Secretary - Asha D'Souza welcomed the gathering. Rev Fr Leo William Lobo - Parish Priest & Director of ICYM Nirkan Unit presided over the programme along with Mr Vincent Bennis - Vice President & Mrs Vinutha Crasta - Secretary of Parish Pastoral Council, Mr Alphonse Fernandes - Convenor of Commissions, Brother Norman Mathias, were the dignitaries. During the inaugural programme, Rev Fr Leo William Lobo addressed the gathering. ICYM member - Arwin Fernandes compered the programe.

ICYM members conducted various traditional and fun-filled games for different age groups. In the morning the event began with individual and group games such as shot put for men and ball throw for women, followed by tug of war and stage relay. As a special attraction, ‘Povli vodcho spardho’ for couples was also conducted and it was a great success. Slow bike race was conducted for 18 years above men and women.

On 4th of December morning, treasure hunt, pass the stick, dice throw, book race, save your balloon were conducted for children of Nirkan parish. Henvil Valder compered the programme. All the ward members actively participated in this event.

In the evening ‘Christmas Cup-2022’ cricket tournament of limited overs was conducted and it was open to all the Nirkan parishioners. Mr Melwyn D'Souza welcomed the gathering on behalf of ICYM Nirkan Unit. On Previous day Five teams were formed with equal strength namely Team Praveen, Team Sushanth, Team Manil, Team Joyson and Team Alwyn. Team Manil were the winners and Team Sushanth were Runners of Christmas Cup -2022.

The event was a huge success and it was great to see people making inter-ward connections.


Comments powered by CComment

Copyright © 2015 - www.catholictime.com.
All rights reserved.

About Us



Powered by eCreators.